Faculty Research

 

 

Shayne Anderson


Associate Professor
Marriage and Family Therapy
2073 JFSB
(801) 422-6416
shayne_anderson@byu.edu

Research Interests:



 

Lauren Barnes


Assistant Professor
Marriage and Family Therapy
247 TLRB
(801) 422-3889
lauren_barnes@byu.edu

Research Interests:

Cultural, familial, and other systematic influences on body image and eating disorders, women's issues such as body image, eating disorders, reproductive issues and relationship struggles.



 

Dawna Baugh


Assistant Professor
Family Studies
2059 JFSB
(801) 422-7175
dawna_baugh@byu.edu

Research Interests:



 

Roy Bean


Professor
Marriage and Family Therapy
2048 JFSB
(801) 422-2349
roy_bean@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Parent-adolescent relationships in ethnically diverse families, cultural competence with Latino Families in therapy, cultural competence with African American Families in therapy.



 

Angela Bradford


Assistant Professor
Marriage and Family Therapy
239 TLRB
(801) 422-1575
angela_bradford@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Effectiveness and moderators of change in couple interactions; mechanisms of change in intervention; emotional regulation in couple therapy.



 

Dean Busby


Director
Marriage, Family, and Human Development
2086B JFSB
(801) 422-2349
dean_busby@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Dr. Busby's research interests include: dating and early marriage relationships, couple conflict, sexuality, and cross-cultural couple research.



 

Mark Butler


Professor
Marriage and Family Therapy
2073 JFSB
(801) 422-8766
mark_butler@byu.edu
Vita

Research Interests:



 

Jason Carroll


Professor
Family Studies
2057 JFSB
(801) 422-7529
jason_carroll@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Dr. Carroll's is currently serving as the Associate Director of the Wheatley Institution (https://wheatley.byu.edu/).  His scholarship focuses on marriage readiness among young adults, the fragmentation of marriage, and modern threats to marriage (such as declining marriage rates, delayed age at marriage, materialism, pornography, and non-marital sexuality, cohabitation, and childbirth).  In 2014, Dr. Carroll received the Berscheid-Hatfield Award for Distinguished Mid-Career Achievement, a biennial award given for distinguished scientific achievement by the International Association for Relationship Research.



 

Sarah Coyne


Graduate Coordinator-MFHD
Associate Professor
Human Development
2087 JFSB
(801) 422-6949
smcoyne@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Dr. Coyne's research interests include the effects of media on children and families, including media violence, video game addiction, gender and body image, and media violence and effects of new media.





 

Jeff Dew


Associate Professor
Family Studies
2101 JFSB
(801) 422-6415
jeff_dew@byu.edu

Research Interests:





 

David Dollahite


Professor
Family Studies
2092B JFSB
(801) 422-4179
david_dollahite@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Dr. Dollahite's research interests include religion and family life in Christian, Jewish, and Muslim families. He is co-director, with Dr. Loren Marks, of the American Families of Faith project through which they have interviewed 200 American couples and families of various Abrahamic faiths (including 80 adolescents). Information about the project can be found at http://AmericanFamiliesofFaith.byu.edu.



 

Thomas Draper


Professor
Human Development
2102B JFSB
(801) 422-4438
thomas_draper@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Dr. Draper's scholarship focuses on dyadic and longitudinal variables and methodological issues in Human Development and Family Studies.



 

Stephen Duncan


Professor
Family Studies
2077 JFSB
(801) 422-1796
steve_duncan@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Dr. Duncan's scholarship focuses on marriage preparation and marriage enhancement; effectiveness of traditional and self-directed marriage and family relations education; family life education program development, implementation, evaluation; and professional training and improving the practice of family life education.



 

Chad Gibbs


Associate Professor
Family and Consumer Science
2056 JFSB
(801) 422-3820
chadgibbs@byu.edu

Research Interests:



 

Natalie Hancock


Associate Professor
Director Family and Consumer Science
2060B JFSB
(801) 422-2429
natalie_hancock@byu.edu

Research Interests:



 

Craig Hart


Professor
Human Development
2102D JFSB
(801) 422-5939
craig_hart@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Dr. Hart's scholarship focuses on linkage among family processes., parenting practices, and children's social development, and developmentally appropriate practices in early childhood education.



 

Alan Hawkins


Professor & Associate Director
Family Studies
2092D JFSB
(801) 422-7088
alan_hawkins@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Dr. Hawkins' research focuses on educational interventions and public policies to prevent unnecessary divorce and help couples form and sustain healthy marriages and relationships.



 

Jeff Hill


Professor
Family Studies
2052 JFSB
(801) 422-0991
jeff_hill@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Dr. Hill's research interests include: work and family harmony; influence of flexible work arrangements (telecommuting, flex-time, part-time work, job sharing, etc.) on work and family outcomes; and family finance.



 

Erin Holmes


Professor & Associate Director
Family Studies
2086D JFSB
(801) 422-5435
erin_holmes@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Dr. Holmes' research focuses on a systemic ecological approach to fathering and mothering including processes inside families that influence parents (such as marital relationships, remarriage, coparenting, or parental wellbeing), and processes outside of families that influence parents (such as employment).



 

Spencer James


Associate Professor
Family Studies
2061 JFSB
(801) 422-6682
spencer_james@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Child WellBeing; Relationship Quality, Dissolution, and Formation; Marital Attitudes and Behaviors; sub-Saharan Africa; Quantitative Research Methods; Social Demography.



 

Alex Jensen


Assistant Professor
Human Development
2097 JFSB
(801) 422-8335
alexjensen@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Direct and indirect sibling influences on adolescents' and young adults' development, including sibling modeling and deidentification, differential treatment and parental favoritism.



 

Lee Johnson


Associate Professor
Marriage and Family Therapy
2055 JFSB
(801) 422-4537
lee_johnson@byu.edu

Research Interests: Examining the relationship between physical exercise, improves sleep, and reduced stress on marital and family therapy outcomes; emotional regulation process in clinical couples and families; and the therapy alliance.



 

Chelom Leavitt


Associate Professor
Family Studies
2054 JFSB
(801) 422-6573
chelom_leavitt@byu.edu

Research Interests:



 

Chien-Ti Lee


Assistant Professor
Human Development
2083 JFSB
(801) 422-4405
chienti_lee@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Cross-cultural adolescent psychosocial development, Adolescent substance abuse.



 

Loren Marks


Professor
Family Studies
2092C JFSB
(801) 422-0370
loren_marks@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Dr. Marks' interests cover religion and families, racial minority families, family finance, and qualitative research


 

Rick Miller


Professor
Family Studies
2075 JFSB
(801) 422-2860
rick_miller@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Dr. Miller’s research interests include examining the process of effective couple therapy, marital relationships over the life course, and Chinese families. 





 

David Nelson


Professor & Associate Dean – FHSS
Human Development
2102C JFSB
(801) 422-3016
david_nelson@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Dr. Nelson has a social development focus that encompasses the following themes: subtypes of childhood aggression, victimization, and prosocial behavior (including gender differences); contributions of humor to social status; correlates of sociometric status; cross-cultural similarities and differences in family environment and children's social development; social cognition (social information-processing patterns and biases) and origins of such; and other potential contributors to childhood aggression such as media violence.



 

Larry Nelson


Professor
Human Development
2091 JFSB
(801) 422-5806
larry_nelson@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Dr. Nelson has two major areas of research interest. First, he studies factors (e.g., parenting, culture, self-perceptions) related to children's social development with an emphasis in shy and withdrawn behaviors in early childhood. Second, his scholarship focuses on the period of life known as emerging adulthood (18-25 years) and the factors that influence the transition to adulthood such as identity, social competence, culture/religion, personal beliefs, and family relationships.



 

Chris Porter


Associate Professor
Human Development
2093 JFSB
(801) 422-5806
chris_porter@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Dr. Porter's research interests include the socialization of behavioral and psychophysiological components of young children's individual characteristics (temperament, emotionality) with particular interest on linkages to individual differences in emerging neural control on children's heart rate variability (i.e., cardiac vagal tone). Additional interests include familial and individual factors influencing the formation of early childhood attachment systems and familial and individual factors influencing the transition to parenting and the emergence of parenting belief systems (self-efficacy).



 

Peter Reschke


Assistant Professor
Human Development
2087 JFSB
(801) 422-3949
peter_reschke@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Dr. Reschke is interested in the development of social cognition and emotion understanding in infancy, and more particularly in infants' emotion attributions, false-belief understanding, imitation/emulation, and false-emotion attributions. He uses a multi-method approach, including non-verbal measures, behavioral paradigms, violation-of-expectation paradigms, and eye-tracking. He is also interested in the role of context in emotion perception, especially as it pertains to how facial expressions of emotion are categorized and visually processed. Dr. Reschke is the principal investigator of the Center for Emotion and Cognition (cec.byu.edu), a research lab located on BYU campus.







 

Adam Rogers


Assistant Professor
Human Development
2089 JFSB
(801) 422-7095
adam_rogers@byu.edu

Research Interests:



 

Jonathan Sandberg


Graduate Coordinator-MFT
Marriage and Family Therapy
266 TLRB
(801) 422-6512
jonathan_sandberg@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Couples and health; medical family therapy; MFT outcome process, and emotionally focused couples therapy.



 

Laura Walker


Professor & Associate Dean - FHSS
Human Development
2086C JFSB
(801) 422-9053
laura_walker@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Dr. Walker's research interests include prosocial and moral development, as well as socialization influences (parents, siblings, media) and their role in positive development during adolescence and emerging adulthood.



 

Jason Whiting


Professor
Marriage and Family Therapy
264 TLRB
(801) 422-8177
jason.whiting@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Couple conflict, including domestic violence, control, and deception. Mindfulness, wellness, MFT theory, and qualitative inquiry.



 

Alyssa Witting


Assicate Director
Marriage and Family Therapy
2085 JFSB

alyssa_witting@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Alyssa is interested generally in rehabilitation from trauma symptoms. Contextually, her effort generally focuses on understanding relational processes related to mass trauma experiences. Alyssa is interested in studying families affected by disaster and is currently working with students to gather and synthesize all of the research literature available on families and natural disasters from the last 20 years. We will work to identify gaps in the research literature and design studies to fill them. 



 

Brian Willoughby


Associate Professor
Family Studies
2081 JFSB
(801) 422-3915
brian.willoughby@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Dr. Willoughby's research generally focuses on how adolescents, young adults, and adults move toward and form long-term committed relationships, focusing on young adult development, couples dynamics, marriage, cohabitation, marital beliefs, and sexuality. Dr. Willoughby is also currently the Director of the RELATE Institute. RELATE Institute is a non-profit organization with the specific tasks of developing research and outreach tools that can be used directly with the public and that can be used to gather information about relationships.



 

Jeremy Yorgason


Associate Professor
Family Studies
2079 TLRB
(801) 422-3515
jeremy_yorgason@byu.edu

Research Interests:
Dr. Yorgason's scholarship focuses mainly on family gerontology, health and marriage, grandparent/grandchild relationships, later life mental health, and longitudinal and dyadic data analysis. He has also done some research in clinical areas include college student mental health, family therapy with older adults, and in-home family therapy.